Someone Bring Some Peppers and Onions…

… cause it’s a real sausage fest!

Get it?

Before we begin… I want to throw it out there that this post will probably contain the word “sausage” about thirty times. And the way I look at it, you could go two routes as you read this (if anyone even reads my posts?)… you could take the high road and keep your mind out of the gutter and not be immature. Or… you could accept that every time you read the word “sausage” you’re going to snicker… and you accept that about yourself. I know I’m going to snicker everytime I write the word “sausage”… in fact, since the post already contains the word “sausage” six times, so that makes for six times I’ve snickered. And I’m ok with that. By the way, I’m, not sure what to call this… Italian sausage? That makes it sound EVEN MORE dirty… like something from Jersey Shore. Sausage, peppers, and onions works, but that takes a long time to say. Who knows. I’ll just call it tonight’s dinner.

But anyway… this recipe is loosely based on a recipe from David  Joachim’s “A Man, A Can, A Plan: 50 Great Meals Even You Can Make“. My mom got that book for me when I moved into my first apartment after college… I guess she didn’t have too much confidence in my cooking abilities… thanks, mom.

You’ll need:

2 Green Peppers (cut into strips)

1 1/2 white onions (cut into pieces)

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 small can (6 oz) tomato paste

1 can (10 oz) Rotel tomatoes and green chiles… I went with mild, but use whatever you want.

3/4 of a 64-oz bottle of V8

1 bottle of beer (I used a craft brewed Pilsner)

12 sweet Johnsonville Italian Sausages… use mild, or hot if you want.

1 tsp kohser salt

3 turns on the pepper mill

Combine all the ingredients, except the sausage, in your crock pot and stir until the tomato paste had dissolved and all the veggies and sauce is all stirred up. Place the sausages into the liquid, and set the crock pot on low. If you do it in the morning, before work, it’ll probably be done by the time you get home. Get your tongs and grab a sausage, slip it into a fresh sausage roll, slap on some of the peppers and onions and call it dinner.

mmm... sweet, sweet sausages.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

